Shows at the National Gallery

Weyth, Cassatt and Wenogrand

Weyth, Cassatt and Wenogrand

I’m thrilled that I was able to see three recent shows at the National Gallery in DC! Last week I joined a group from the Bon Air Artist Association for a bus trip to the Mall in Washington.  Three of the artists, Degas, Cassatt, and Wyeth, are included in the Dan Springs Collection ‘Visit with the Artist’ series and it was such pleasure to see their works.  I’m sure I’ve seen Winogrand’s photos before, but I wasn’t aware of his name, or the volume of work he produced in the 60’s and 70’s.

The combined exhibit of impressionists Edgar Degas and Mary Cassatt will be up until October 5, 2014 and highlights their mutual admiration and influence on each other.

Andrew Wyeth – Looking Out, Looking In goes thru November 30th and includes an excellent selection of his work.  I’m particularly fond of the highlighted piece, shown in my postcard above, Wind from the Sea, 1947. I was captivated the first time I saw it, in a mobile exhibit at the College of William and Mary in 1970.

The Garry Winogrand show will only be there two more weeks, until June 8th. He’s inspired me to go back thru my contact sheets from the 70’s and 80’s – there may be treasures hidden away in my closet!

Washington, D.C. – only two hours from Richmond, by bus, train or car!  Check it out!!

P.S. – check the TAPP (Traditional Art Preservation Program) tab on this blog for details on our ‘Visit with Artist’ programs.

 

Leave a Reply

