Custom Doll

Sometime in the Summer of 2011 a woman who used to live in my neighborhood approached me at the South of the James Market and asked if I might be able to make a doll for her. Her mother, who was a nurse, many years ago made a doll and a complete nurses outfit for it.  Unfortunately, the doll was loved to disintegration. However, the outfit survived and she wanted a doll for her mother that the clothes would fit.

We talked about it on several occassions, then this fall she brought me the dress, we looked a several options, and established a target of Thanksgiving for completion.  I made a test doll, which worked great. So finally several weeks ago I delivered the finished doll.  Over the holiday she gave it to her mother, who was very pleased, and they sent me a photo of the doll all dressed up!

What fun!

Leave a Reply

